Additional Measures of The Indonesian Government in Relation to Covid-19 Response

20 March, 2020 | Source: Indonesian Foreign Ministry

1. The Government continues to follow cl​osely WHO situation report on the spread of Coronavirus.

2. Given the increasing number of countries affected by COVID-19, the Government advises all Indonesian citizens to restrict non-essential outbound travels.

3. For Indonesian citizens currently travelling abroad, it is advised to return to Indonesia at the earliest possible time to avoid further travel disruptions.

4. A number of countries have enacted policies to restrict the movement of persons. All Indonesian citizens are requested to monitor closely information available through the Safe Travel Application or contact the hotline of the nearest Indonesian Mission.

5. The Indonesian government has suspended its visa exemption policy for shohrt-stay visit, visa-on-arrival and diplomatic/service visa-free facilities for all countries, for a period of 1 month.

6. All foreigners/travelers who wish to visit Indonesia must obtain a visa from Indonesia missions in accordance with the purpose of their visit.  Upon submission, applicant must provide health certificate issued by relevant health authorities from their respective countries.

7. In addition, a number of country-specific policies are as follows:

First, measures for visitors from China remain in effect, in accordance with the Statement of the Minister for Foreign Affairs on 2 February 2020 and the Regulation of the Minister of Law and Human Rights Number 7 of 2020.

8. Second, measures for visitors from South Korea, Daegu City and Gyeongsangbuk-do Province remain in effect, in accordance with the Statement of the Minister for Foreigner Affairs on 5 March 2020.

9. Third, deny entry or transit to Indonesia for visitors/travelers who have travelled to the following countries, in the last 14 days:

a. Iran;

b Italy;

c. Holy See;

d. Spain;

e. France;

f. Germany;

g. Switzerland;

h. United Kingdom

10. Fouth, all visitors/travelers must complete and submit a Health Alert Card to the Port Health Authority upon arrival at Indonesian airports.

11. Should the travel history indicate that a person has travelled to the countries above in the last 14 days, such person may be refused entry to Indonesia.

12. Fifth, for Indonesian citizens who have travelled to the countries above, an additional screening shall be carried out by the Port Health Authority upon arrival:

a. If the additional screening shows initial symptoms of COVID-19, a 14-day observation in a government facility will be applied;

b. If no initial symptom is found, a 14-day self-quarantine will be strongly recommended.

13. The extention of Stay Permit for foreigner travelers who are currently in Indonesia and have expired, shall be conducted in accordance with Regulation of the Ministry of Justice and Human Rights No.7 of 2020.

14. The extention of Residence Permit for holders of Temporary Stay Permit Card (KITAS)/Permanent Stay Permit Card (KITAP) and holders of Diplomatic Visa and Service Visa who are currently overseas and will expire, shall be conducted in accordance with the Regulation of the Ministry of Justice and Human Rights no.7 of 2020.

15. These measures will take effect on Friday 20 March at 00.00 Western Indonesia Time (GMT+7).

16. These measures are temporary and shall be evaluated pursuant to further development



Indonesia will produce COVID-19 test kits and ventilators by late May of 2020, Minister of Research and Technology/Head of the National Research and Innovation Board Bambang Brodjonegoro stated.
Vice President Ma′ruf Amin confirmed that the Indonesian government had readied several development programs to support the country′s recovery amid the COVID-19 pandemic that led the government to amend the focus of development in 2020.
President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo has called on the government and the public to flatten the curve of COVID-19 transmission in the country this month “by any means necessary”.
President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) has thrown strong light on three steps that the Non-Alignment Movement (NAM) can prioritize to handle the COVID-19 pandemic.
Times Higher Education’s Impact Rankings showed three Indonesian universities -- Universitas Indonesia (UI), Universitas Gadjah Mada (UGM), and IPB University -- placed among the world′s top 100 universities.
The Indonesia Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM) is collaborating with DBS Bank for increasing foreign investment into the country.
Address: 1068 Budapest, Városligeti fasor 26. | MAP |
Phone: (+36-1) 413 3800 Fax: (+36-1) 322 8669